Overall Rating: 4.95 Stars

Total Reviews: 103

Michael

May 18, 2019

If you have the time and money for this, DO IT! When we went the weather was chilly and cloudy. Captain Doug warned we may no see many whales due to the time of the season, then we saw a group of 3!! And we stayed near them. In a vacation that has already included Disneyland and a close friend's wedding, sailing has been our favorite part! Follow WhaleTalesSailing on instagram!!

Private Feedback: Thank you so much for your hospitality, good luck in Alaska. If we find our selves in SLO again, we will be back to sail for sure!!!

Cindy

May 5, 2019

If you’re even thinking about this: do it. It was super cool and unique, not to mention peaceful, fun, and interesting! Plus tons of wine. They are not kidding about it being cold though, I’d layer up and maybe bring a beanie! Lucky our tour guide was kind enough to lend me a blanket and jacket!

Private Feedback: Thank you so much for everything!!! I’d recommend this experience to anyone.

Colin

May 2, 2019

Doug and Isaac were very knowledgeable of sailing, local wildlife, and the history of the area. We had an incredible experience sailing out on the water and even got to see a humpback whale! The entire time, they made every effort to make sure we were comfortable and always had a drink in hand :) Highly recommend!

Private Feedback: Thank you so much! We had an incredible time!

Helen

April 22, 2019

My husband and I had a great experience with Doug sailing and "whale" watching in San Luis Obispo Bay. The wind was strong and Doug handled his boat well and seemed to really enjoy sharing a sail with 5 strangers. Though we didn't catch a glimpse of any whale tails we saw lots of other sea life and birds. I would highly recommend this experience and Doug and really loved our "west coast" ocean sail being an east coast ocean sailor.

Private Feedback: Thanks for a great trip and we wish you well with your science and sailing. Helen and Peter

Krysti

April 20, 2019

Doug was so great - the scheduled time we signed up for had a bad weather forecast, so he messaged me to find a better time that worked with the weather and our schedule. It was such a fun boat road, with great wine and snacks, and getting to learn both about the wild life and some of the local history was wonderful. This was a great, unique experience that I'm so glad we made time for on our quick weekend trip!

Sam

April 20, 2019

Amazing! We had so much fun! Learned so much about the area and marine life!

Private Feedback: Thank you so much!

Darin

April 17, 2019

It's a lot of fun. Doug is really good at what he does!

Lettie

April 17, 2019

Doug is a pro and we had a wonderful sail. We will come again!!

Private Feedback: Many thanks, Doug, for a wonderful experience. Josh and I had a blast!

Oliver

April 12, 2019

Great experience, thoroughly recommend!

Susie

March 28, 2019

This was our first time on a sail boat and the experience was amazing! I would highly recommend going on this journey with Doug. Not only is he a wonderful at sailing, but he is passionate. He was very informative about being out on the ocean and made it fun. We even got to see a whale. Doug hustled several times on the sail boat to continue returning around to make sure we got to see the whale many times (let me tell you this did not look like a simple task, especially with the winds, thank you!). Even before booking, I wanted to make sure we would be able to sail due to the weather and he stayed in communication daily about our sail date. You don't want to miss this opportunity! Thanks Doug!

Natalie

March 22, 2019

Was an amazing experience and for the first time being on the sea and in a sailboat Doug made it very comfortable and made you feel safe!

Private Feedback: Thanks for the experience!! Had an amazing time!! Next time if we are in the area we hope to come back by and see some whales and experience going a little further out in the ocean!!! Thanks again!

Nicholas

February 24, 2019

This trip is a great way to spend part of a day on the water. The up close pass to the sea otters, the great wind out past the break water and Doug’s knowledge of the marine environment all made for a wonderful experience I would heartily recommend to anyone considering this adventure.

Private Feedback: Thanks Doug, it was a great time! I really appreciate your effort to care for your guests and to share your knowledge and experience. We hope to come back during humpback season.

Beth

February 24, 2019

This was a wonderful experience. Doug is very knowledgeable about sailing, marine life, and the local shoreline. He freely shared his knowledge with us and we were completely comfortable asking questions. It was a trip worth taking and sharing about.

Private Feedback: Thanks so much! We had a terrific time and wish you the best in your adventures!

Beate

September 23, 2018

Doug and his co-pilot are both very friendly and marine biologists. I loved the trip, learned stuff, saw the sea otters I came for, and we got to see humpback whales! I would totally sail with them again, although we ran on engine due to the lack of wind.

Private Feedback: Thanks for the trip. Would love to sail again. Oh, and I arrived in Salinas when I wanted to, so sailing today instead of yesterday totally paid off.

Ali

September 23, 2018

Doug and his brother were very nice, down to earth, and accommodating to us. Highly recommended! I would go with them again.

Ken

September 22, 2018

We had a great time. It was a lot of fun and educational. Would highly recommend taking this sailing trip. The wildlife was great

Ellaine

September 22, 2018

Definitely worth it! Doug and Isaac are both very knowledgeable. They made sure that everyone is comfortable and safe. The boat felt very roomy and clean. It’s not whale season, so we only saw a couple of whales from far away. But, Doug and Isaac took the time to try and get us a little closer to the action. I would definitely come back during whale season.

Private Feedback: You guys were great!! I hope I get the chance to comeback during whale season! 😊

Mher

September 22, 2018

Doug and his brother Isaac are the coolest, they know a lot about the area, and been sailing for 10 years. We got lucky and saw two humpbacks that we chased for a while and sailed around and they told us a whole lot of history about the piers and about the marine life in the area. Thank you guys, keep doing the great work and providing us with great time.

Gaia

August 27, 2018

Il capitano Dug e suo fratello Isaac sono due persone splendide, appassionate del loro lavoro e ci hanno fatto vivere una bellissima esperienza di navigazione al fianco delle balene.

Sharon

August 26, 2018

Doug was a great Captain. Careful and fun. He gave us interesting historic information about the area and taught about environmental issues. We found the whales! Such a thrill!

Sheradine

August 26, 2018

We had a great time sailing with Capt Doug & his brother Issac! We got to see whales, seals and otters and also learned about marine animals from them.

Kenneth

August 26, 2018

Wonderful experience.

Rachel

August 26, 2018

Doug and Issac did a fantastic job creating a fun and adventurous experience for us. They were very knowledgeable about the sea life and the area. Highly recommend!

Linda

August 24, 2018

Doug and his brother were the best hosts. They are extremely knowledgeable about all aspects of the area and the sea life. Very warm and relaxing sail!! ❤️

Adrienne

August 24, 2018

so so so much fun! doug was great and super knowledgeable about the area and the sea life around us. i had a wonderful time and they gave us great snacks. we missed the whales, but i hardly noticed since we had such a nice time sailing!! :)

Rebecca

August 22, 2018

Doug and his brother were consummate hosts. They made the trip very comfortable and fun! Some members of our group were a little scared of the water and they made every effort to enforce safety and relieve concerns. They also served great snacks and drinks. Both Doug and Issac have a background in marine biology and presented our group with insights about local flora and fauna. The boat was comfortable and roomy. Make sure to take something for motion sickness and cold weather. Overall a great experience. We will go again.

Rachel

August 20, 2018

Doug and his brother Isaac are exceptional guides! They are very educated on the surrounding area and provide some fun facts about the marine life! We did the sunset cruise with perfect weather conditions, and ended up spotting a handful of whales, in which we spent a good amount of time close to them while they fed. Awesome, awesome tour! I highly recommend for a small group- Especially at sunset! It’s worth the extra cost! (0h, and great snacks and wine provided :) )

Andy

August 18, 2018

Doug was knowledgeable and an excellent sailor. He knows his marine biology and local history. When I spotted whale spray, he got us to the location straight away and was able to get us close to 2 humpback whales. A wonderful, calm and restful sunset sail. Highly recommend a few hours sailing with Doug.

Private Feedback: Pretty flawless trip! Thanks for believing me when I said I saw whales!!

Kim And Jeff

August 18, 2018

We had a wonderful time out on Doug’s sailboat. He’s a marine biologist and will answer any questions you have of the area as well as the ocean. Highly Recommend!!

Don

August 18, 2018

Oh my God where do I start… Doug was an excellent captain, communicator and boy does he know the ocean. Doug was able to bring us out into the middle of nowhere and spotted a couple of humpback whales by their air mist. We then followed them for a little while watching. Doug cut the engine, raised the sails and we quietly sailed along side of these beautiful two humpbacks for at least a half an hour. It was the most incredible experience ever!!! I highly recommend Doug and his team who are incredible at what they do which is tell you about the land that surrounds you, the ocean that you explore and finding those wonderful beautiful Wales.

Private Feedback: Best knowledge of the ocean and finding the whales.

Katia

August 5, 2018

Captain Doug was a great host. He reached out in advance to check in with us and asked about our expectations to fine tune the sailing trip. We had fantastic ocean sail with great insight into marine wildlife. There were no whales on our ways, but lots of birds, sea lions, pirate cove and other natural treasures on the way

Katy

August 3, 2018

Captain Doug’s experience was fun, safe and extremely knowledgeable! He communicated well w us on what to bring ( it does get very windy and cold even in Aug so wear pants and jacket) He provided La Croix, water, beer and wine as well as light snacks of trail mix, fresh cherries, and nectarines. We did see 2-3 gray whales and it was so cool. He is passionate about marine life and the marine environment. His directions were very clear on where to meet and he keeps it small ( 6 people max) this is a killer deal for the price I highly recommend this trip!!! Thanks so much Doug!!!

Brian

August 3, 2018

This is a great trip, beautiful yacht and a great host. Doug made the trip interesting with his knowledge of the history of the area and the marine ecology of the California coast. This was real sailing, we saw sea otters, hump back whales, pelicans , cormorants, and sea lions. It was tremendous. A must do if you’re in the area.

Duncan

August 3, 2018

We had an excellent trip out with Doug. He is very knowledgeable about the local area and sealife and we found it very interesting. Even had we not seen whales it would have been a great trip, but we were fortunate enough to see some whales. We would highly recommend this experience.

Pauline

July 28, 2018

Our sailing trip with Captain Doug was an absolute highlight on our 9 day journey through the coast of California. He was very personable and knowledgeable of the rich history of this area. We felt completely prepared for the trip through his profile recommendations. He was also accommodating with a scheduling conflict that came up for us. Though the waters were quite choppy, he allowed for us to choose our desire for adventure. Thankfully we ventured on and were able to see several Humpback whales and they were beautiful!! We learned so much about the marine life and history of SLO and thoroughly enjoyed the peacefulness of a gorgeous afternoon sail!! Thank you Captain Doug, we’re looking forward to returning to SLO and sailing with you again!! Cheers, Pauline and Grace

Private Feedback: Perfect trip and excellent host! Fully enjoyed our time with him. Thank you for a lovely adventure:)

Angee

July 27, 2018

Relaxing and educational day on the water. Doug knows his marine life, I learned so much! Doug captains a beautiful sailboat, paired with the central coast special, and you've got yourself a perfect kind of day.

Kris

July 27, 2018

Very nicely prepared tour while catering to the needs and wishes of the passengers. With our more "adventurous" group, we went straight toward the whales and got a phenomenal view with one whale even swimming right alongside the boat! Be prepared to get a little wet and feel a bit like you're on a roller coaster, though!

Nicole

July 27, 2018

We had a very enjoyable time on the tour. A small selection of snacks and drinks were provided, consisting of strawberry fruit bars, peanut butter pretzels, and fruit along with Coke products and a local beer option. Doug informed us and the other group of two that the seas out of the bay were rough, but gave folks the option of a more adventurous trip if we wanted. The other folks suggested we try venturing off shore. First we cruised the bay and saw a few sea otter rafts and learned about the history of the bay. Then we ventured further off shore. We were told that whales hadn’t been seen for six days so we probably wouldn’t see them either. However when we got into the rougher seas Doug spotted some sea birds and we headed towards them. When we got closer we needed up seeing four whales about 10’ off the boat. It was neat to see whales so close and without the noise of an engine. Conditions rapidly declined at sea and we had a rough, but fun, ride back to the bay where we learned a little more about the area. Overall fun, comfortable, low key and a nice change of pace if you are looking for a different experience from your typical commercial offshore cruise.

Brock

July 26, 2018

My wife and I had an amazing time on our trip with Doug. He was very knowledgeable and experienced. The views and overall experience were amazing. Would definitely recommend if you are in the area. 10/10

Abby

July 26, 2018

We saw so many otters, sea lions, harbor seals and birds. Captain Doug was very knowledgeable and an excellent guide.

Private Feedback: Thanks for the trip Doug!

Darryl

July 26, 2018

Captain Doug met us at the "floating dock". It was a slight challenge for us to find since it is underneath the actual pier. The entire sail was delightful. We saw many birds and Captain answered many questions.

Ephraim

July 26, 2018

That was a very fun afternoon. Winds were a bit gusty, but Doug still found ways to let us sail a while, learn about the process, and enjoy the whole experience. Highly recommended!

Michelle

July 25, 2018

Super fun way to spend a couple hours. Doug is really friendly and knowledgeable. It was great to learn some cool facts about the area and it’s history. We didn’t see any whales but we saw lots of otters, sea lions, birds and harbor seals. Bring some Dramamine if you prone to motion sickness. Highly recommend!!!!

Deb

July 23, 2018

We had a great time and learned so much about marine life and the ecosystem. We saw three humpback whales, that was a real treat! This was a fun experience and Doug is a very knowledgeable sweet guy. Money well spent! Thank you, Doug!

Private Feedback: We wouldn't change a thing, we were very happy with the experience.

Brian

July 23, 2018

This is a wonderful chance to experience California from the Ocean and leave lasting memories of the sea and landscapes. Doug is a fantastic skipper who shares lots of great information about marine wildlife and history of the bay. We even got to see and follow some whales along the coast.

Private Feedback: Thanks Doug for a great experience. Brian

Gail & Geof

July 17, 2018

Our morning cruise was absolutely awesome! We are finicky travelers with high expectations, and we wholeheartedly give this experience our highest recommendation! Doug is a very experienced marine researcher, diver and sailor, with a deep knowledge of sea life and the cultural history of the area, which he enthusiastically shared with us. We learned so much about the local sea animals and plants - as well as the Avila coastline - and can't wait to take another cruise with Doug in the future. Thanks a million, Doug! -Gail & Geof

Elisabeth

July 14, 2018

The Captain explained the working of his boat ;the Doce IV, detailed the sail , explained marine life and navigated the vessel close to otters, sea lions and whales. We felt comfortable, learned a lot and experienced marine mamal close up. Dress warmly and get ready to snap photos! Great sailboat and weather flexible tour. So many sightings if whales , otters, seals and pelicans.Captain Dough was an excellent guide, sailor and marine expert!

Claudia

July 14, 2018

10 out of of 10! Doug was entertaining and knowledgeable! Would do again.

Sanjin

July 10, 2018

Doug was very knowledgeable about wild life and local history. It maid the already existing sailing trip even more interesting.

Bryan

July 9, 2018

Sailing with Doug was a trip I’ll never forget! He’s super friendly and knowledgeable, and did his best to keep us where the action was- right up close to three humpback whales feeding! I couldn’t recommend this enough!!

Amanda

July 8, 2018

The trip was great! I was a little seasick but Doug provided some ginger candies that helped. Doug was very attentive to all of his guests making sure that we were all okay and warm (make sure to bring a jacket, no matter how sunny it is on the pier). He is very knowledgeable about the marine animals and the environment as well as the history of the area. I would highly recommend doing a sailing trip with Doug while you are in Cali.

Connor

July 8, 2018

Doug was a great and knowledgeable guide. He showed great attention to detail by providing snacks and watching out for sea sickness and the wellbeing of his guests. He was responsive to our communications as well. He is also very skilled and at ease as a sailor and we felt safe and confident with him at the helm. Loved all the nature we saw including many sea lions and sea otters. Doug also gave us history and background on the area which was interesting!

Private Feedback: It seems Doug does not communicate through the AirBnb chat- I had submitted questions to him and he never responded. Fortunately, he is responsive to text message so no problems overall.

Birgit

July 8, 2018

It was a wet but awesome experience

Private Feedback: Go on showing the beauty of this coast and it's nature and sensitize your guests for receiving it !!!

Alejandro

July 7, 2018

This was an experience I will never forget! Captain Doug was an amazing guide taking us as close to possible to ocean wild life as possible, pointing out the history of all the view points and surroundings. We lucked out big time that sunset as Captain said that was "the best weather he had seen in months for sailing" It was a smooth smooth sailing experience and also one of the most romantic moments I have shared with my husband. Oh, and the views and pictures I took are just breath taking

Private Feedback: Thank you so much for hosting us. Hands down the best part of our vacation in Central Coast

Cynthia

July 7, 2018

We had a great time with Captain Doug! He is easy going but knows how to sail. It was an unusally hot day so it was a relief to be on the water. We saw seals and lots of otters. Doug told us the history of the area and shared interesting stories. I highly recommend this experince. Thank you! Cynthia

Private Feedback: There is nothing I would change about this trip.

Jacqueline

July 6, 2018

Captain Doug was quite the host! His knowledge of the history, wildlife, and oceanography was very impressive. Captain Doug is friendly and interactive but also gives plenty of time to relax and take it all in. We accidently left a jacket on the boat and he was kind enough to meet us at the dock. This sailboat trip was definitely worth it.

Lija

July 6, 2018

Doug's sailing experience was amazing! He picked us up from a floating dock in his dinghy and brought us out to the sailboat. We had a pretty windy day, but he did a great job of taking us where the winds were not as strong. He had some wine onboard as well, it made for a great few hours!

Bob

July 6, 2018

Doug was awesome. Directions were great, right where and when he said he would be and while we didn't find any whales, we did have a cool sailing adventure up and down the coast near Pismo Beach. Thanks Doug!!

Private Feedback: Fun time.

Hannah

July 3, 2018

Where to begin?! Capt Doug was awesome!.. He hung out with us, taught us a bunch of interesting facts about the land, and wildlife.. Yet he also gave us our space and let us feel as if we were the captains of our very own sailboat everything from the drinks, snacks, and company was exactly what we were hoping for! I’ll be referring everyone I know!

Sean

July 2, 2018

Doug was an amazing guide. We saw several whales and tons of sea lions.

Fang

June 30, 2018

Great sailing trip. Doug is super chill and a fantastic host. You would not be disappointed no matter the weather.

Samantha

June 30, 2018

Doug was very nice! He gave very detailed instructions prior to going. He was very polite, knowledgeable, and safe. We enjoyed seeing the six whales and TONS of sea lions. We loved it! Thank you!!!

Zachary

June 30, 2018

Doug was very knowledge of local marine life, and a great sailor to boot. We had a great day on the water, and saw several whales! A fantastic experience overall!

Write a public response

Dana

June 30, 2018

I highly recommend going out with Doug on his boat! He has a lot of knowledge about the area and the marine life. He was able to take us out to a big group of whales, and we just had a really nice time! The snacks and beer were a nice touch, too!

Write a public response

Rachel

June 28, 2018

Such a fun experience and definitely worth it! We got to see otters, whales, seals and enjoy a beautiful sunset. Doug is very knowledgeable about the ocean/marine animals and was a great guide. Would highly recommend!

Write a public response

Caitlin

June 28, 2018

This was an incredible experience for my sister and I. We booked the sunset cruise and lucked out with having the boat to ourselves. Doug is extremely knowledgeable and we learned a lot about marine life during the 2.5 hour trip. We saw otters, sea lions, and humpback whales! Extremely memorable and so much fun.

Write a public response

Liam

June 26, 2018

This was one of the highlights of our trip!! Doug was so welcoming and incredibly knowledgable given that he is also a marine biologist! We had a wonderful time and saw lots of wildlife including a mother and calf humpback whale! Highly recommended!!

Private Feedback: Thanks so much Doug!! We had such a wonderful time!

Write a public response

Stefan

June 23, 2018

Very cool trip. Although we were a bit unlucky with the whales, Doug was an awesome caiptan and made the trip interesting and entertaining...

Write a public response

Bailey

June 22, 2018

My boyfriend and I went out with Doug and a few other people. The boat was beautiful. We had a great time with great weather and had fun getting to help sail. Doug was an exceptional host that was super knowledgeable about the area and shared historical and biological information with us on our trip. 100% plan on returning.

Write a public response

Cheryl

June 21, 2018

Doug was very knowledgeable and accessible. Engaged with my daughter and I and completely at ease handling his boat. Had such a wonderful time and would recommend this experience to everyone who is in this area.

Private Feedback: I can't think of any way you could have made this experience any better. Kate and I both felt that this was the highlight of our entire trip. Thank you so much for taking us sailing.

Write a public response

Jordan

June 18, 2018

Best trip ever. Doug was an amazing captain AND guide. He really makes the trip top notch and is full of knowledge and experience. He also was great about catering the trip to our preferences. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a beautiful, fun experience.

Write a public response

Lila

June 18, 2018

We had the most amazing time! Captain Doug was very nice and full of interesting facts about the surrounding area and the animals it inhabits. We got a little lost on the way there but Doug was quick to respond and he gave us directions that helped us to easily find our way. I highly recommend this trip it was a wonderful and informative experience.

Write a public response

Animesh

June 17, 2018

Doug was prompt, patient and available at all times. This was our first time sailing and it was a smooth experience. Doug took us sailing about 90 mins offshore and seeked out where the whales were feeding. We were able to get a great experience of whale whatching during our sunset trip on a Sunday. I would definitely do it again.

Write a public response

Kimberly

June 16, 2018

This sailing trip exceed my expectations. Doug was so knowledgeable about the area and marine life. Couldn’t believe how close we were able to get to the whales. Memories will last a lifetime!

Private Feedback: Thanks so much Doug! We had a great time.

Write a public response

Audrey

June 16, 2018

Doug was a great guide with lots of knowledge about the wildlife and surroundings. It was very relaxing and we had a great time.

Write a public response

Terri

June 16, 2018

Very patient and knowledgeable sailing with fantastic marine life viewing!

Write a public response

Chris

June 15, 2018

Captain Doug was fantastic and our whales tale trip was everything we could have hoped for! Doug was very knowledgeable about the local area and about the local wildlife. He provided us with warm coats as we were woefully unprepared for the chill of the ocean breeze and offered us refreshments on board. The trip was personal, informative, and successful as although Doug couldn't definitively promise us a whale sighting - he knew where we might find them, and we were lucky to get very close as the sail boat didn't have any loud motor noises that would scare away the local wild life. The whales came up right beside the boat, and even swam underneath us. The sail boat was clean and tidy, and an the journey towards the whales was an adventure in itself as we got to watch Doug manoeuvre the sails, tack, and jibe.

Write a public response

Timbrel

June 9, 2018

I definitely recommend this experience!!

Write a public response

Rob

June 9, 2018

What a great experience! Doug was friendly, knowledgeable, and made it a great experience for our family. Due to weather, we were unable to get out to possibly see whales or dolphins, however, Doug notified us of that the day prior, and made it possible to reschedule ( which due to travel, we could not). It was still a fun experience for us! I highly recommend using Doug for your sailing adventures.

Write a public response

Sheila

June 9, 2018

What a great way to spend a few hours. High winds today kept us in the protected area of Port St Luis but it was beautiful and really lovely to see Avila, Pirates Cove, etc from the water. Everything was exactly as Doug communicated, a little chilly and wet but totally refreshing and amazing. Lots of sea otters and sea lions and birds to see along with the beautiful scenery. I highly recommend this trip!

Private Feedback: Everything was perfect. Just what we hoped for. Thank you!

Write a public response

Rachel

June 9, 2018

My boyfriend and I had a great time sailing with Doug. It was both of our first time being on a sailboat. Doug knew a lot about the area and told us a bunch of interesting things. I loved seeing the sea otters, I would recommend this experience to anyone.

Write a public response

Leah

June 8, 2018

Doug was great, full of knowledge. Would definitely recommend.

Write a public response

Kenneth

June 8, 2018

Doug and his boat are awesome.

Write a public response

Heather

June 8, 2018

We had such a great time with Doug! He knew a lot about the marine life and we learned a bunch about otters we didn't know before. Ask him about rock pockets. Fascinating stuff. Doug is easy going, made us feel safe and took great care of us. I'd do this again in a heartbeat.

Private Feedback: Thank you again for a delightful time. It was just what we needed and you were a great host!!! Keep doing what you're doing. I really do think the stop at Pirate's Cove is a great idea you can incorporate into your experience. I hope it works out for you.

Write a public response

Kayla

June 7, 2018

Awesome experience with Doug! He had so much information and it was a fun time!!!

Write a public response

Trisha

June 4, 2018

Great experience! Very informative, without being "tour guide", intimate and personal . . .

Write a public response

Holly

June 2, 2018

My girls and I had a great time on our sailing experience with Doug. Doug was very hospitable and knowledgeable and made sure that we all enjoyed our time on the water. Thanks for taking us out on your sailboat and allowing me to make some fun memories with my college age kids.

Private Feedback: Super fun, thank you!

Write a public response

Jennifer

June 2, 2018

What an amazing experience! It was an unbelievable opportunity to see multiple humpback whales! It was so relaxing and hospitable! I will definitely return!

Write a public response

Ashley

May 31, 2018

This was expensive, and worth every penny. Captain Doug was amazing! It’s a beautiful area, and you will learn so much. I could watch the sea otters all day. Bring a coat!

Write a public response

Jacorí

May 30, 2018

Maaaan this activity was so lovely! Can't wait to travel back this way for another trip. Doug has good manners and interesting conversation. Capt. Doug was very knowledgeable on sea life. We were informed of(and spotted) various types of kelp, sea otters, seals, schools of fish, the waves, and chatted about life out at sea and a bit of local history. Doug was very accommodating offering us tea and snacks--we almost cancelled due to the cold weather but I'm glad we didn't. It was such a relaxing ride that I almost fell asleep a couple of times lulled by the waves while my husband chatted with Doug. We didn't see any whales but we were not disappointed either!

Write a public response

Andrew

May 27, 2018

Fantastic!! Doug and his partner were extremely knowledgeable about the area. Awesome boat! Would recommend

Write a public response

Shawn

May 27, 2018

Captain Doug took great care of us for a tour of San Luis Bay. The wind was ripping on our afternoon tour, so we stuck closer to shore and got to observe sea otters, dolphins, pelicans. We even took a short trip out to the wind line and got the sailboat heeled over pretty good - he let us work the tiller so we felt like sailors for a bit. All in all and excellent couple of hours on the water and we would highly recommend it!

Write a public response

Kaushik

May 26, 2018

This was our first experience on a sailboat. And we thoroughly enjoyed it! We got to see a few humpback whales, sea otters, sea lions and pelicans. Doug was a very good host. The moment we booked this experience, Doug made sure to send us useful information about what to expect, including details on where to meet, park, what weather conditions to expect, how to be equipped, precautionary measures while sailing etc etc. We booked the 6pm timeslot which was perfect, we left shore during broad daylight and got back just around sunset. I'd totally recommend this Airbnb experience to anyone looking for something fun to do around San Luis Obispo.

Write a public response

David

May 26, 2018

Doug's sailing excursion was really wonderful! We not only had a great time having some wine and sailing watching the sunset, but we also got to learn a lot and we saw a couple of whales swimming next to us. It was a really amazing and personal experience.

Write a public response

Maxine

May 26, 2018

Captain Doug was very personable and knowledgeable. He was down to earth and answered all our questions...he gave us a great tour with beautiful scenery and wild life to appreciate. We had a blast and would recommend his venture to anyone who is up for a fun adventurous sailing ride Thx Captian Doug :)

Write a public response

Karen

May 26, 2018

Doug was a wealth of knowledge, very polite and a great guide. We had a great time and highly recommend the trip.

Write a public response

Brad

May 25, 2018

Doug's sailing excursion was everything we were looking for - A knowledgable host who could answer any marine question we had and a very laid back captain of a genuinely quaint sailing ship. Wine and snacks - fresh sea air and a beautiful two and a half hours on the ocean. Perfect.

Write a public response

Qianze

April 11, 2018

Good

Write a public response

Jer & Bri

April 7, 2018

This was such a fun and magical trip! We did the one at sunset (5:00pm-7:30pm) and the whole experience was stunning. We saw several whales and lots of marine life. Doug is an expert and so knowledgeable. Upon arriving we were given wine and snacks! Truly an experience we will never forget!

Write a public response

Melissa

April 6, 2018

This was my husband and I's first time going sailing. It just so happened to be the first day of our honeymoon and anniversary. Doug was so understanding with us being a little late due to wonderful traffic getting out of LA lol when we got there he was very laid back, sweet and offered us wine, tea, and snacks which was an added bonus! It turned out to be a very foggy day and kept our options open on what we would do which was to either stay local and see the otters/get a history of the area or venture into the abyss and find some whales. We actually did a little bit of both and boy was that a treat. It was so serene, beautiful, quiet, and tranquil. Doug was so informative giving us information on the type of whales, kelp forests, and sea creatures that we saw and even hung out with us a little longer because it truly was a special trip. I've never experienced anything more serene and intimate with nature (and all I do is go on fun adventures, hike, camp, etc) - Doug was an amazing guide and just an overall amazing person. I would so love to go on another trip with him, but be under the sun. Hey - gotta have the best of both worlds, right? 1000% go and book this trip if you want a laid back, intimate experience!!

Private Feedback: None! We were and still are extremely happy!

Write a public response

Cassie

April 6, 2018

Doug was awesome! He was very responsive and worked with us when trying to make sure our schedules worked out. The boat is wonderful and we pushed to the bounds of our area and got to see multiple humpback whales! Doug is also super educated and was willing to answer all our questions. Absolutely worth it!

Write a public response

Reiner

April 5, 2018

great guy great experience sometjibg you should absolutely try out

Write a public response

Jennifer

April 1, 2018

This was such a great experience. The boat is beautiful, Doug and his brother Isaac were very laid back and knowledgeable guides, not to mention excellent hosts providing champagne, tea, snacks, warm jackets, whatever we needed. We really enjoyed our day out chasing whales and seeing the beauty of our own town from off the coast. For locals or travelers a like I really suggest this experience. I bought it for my husband's xmas present and he thoroughly enjoyed it as well. Especially trying out his hand at sailing a bit himself. Thanks so much for the fun time Doug!

Private Feedback: Everything was great! Sorry we didn't have time to be more leisurely about the whole trip as we had to get back to the baby.

Write a public response

Anna

March 31, 2018

Our sailing trip was definitely a highlight of our vacation to SLO. Doug and Issac were super friendly and easy to be around, and they made sure we were all comfortable and safe, with plenty of snacks, drinks, and extra blankets and coats to keep us warm. We saw a ton of sea otters and birds, and enjoyed a nice crisp evening out on the water. Would definitely recommend!

Private Feedback: Thanks so much! We had a wonderful time!

Write a public response

Marley

March 31, 2018

Fantastic experience - beautiful boat, stunning coastline, and some truly wonderful people at the helm. Doug and his brother were big-hearted, welcoming, and very knowledgeable as marine biologist and ocean enthusiasts. I can't recommend this trip enough!

Private Feedback: We had such a great time - it was nice to meet you both! Thanks for getting us back out on the water :-)

Write a public response

Bridgid

September 9, 2017

The boat is beautiful. So peaceful. Exactly what is described. Perfect location. Rocking to sleep with the sounds of water on the boat... amazing!!

Private Feedback: Loved this boat. So peaceful and relaxing. Then kayack was perfect and a great adventure to dinner and back.

Madeline

September 6, 2017

This is an adventure you dont want to miss.it is a fantastic boat and the host is great!

Private Feedback: Thanks for being a great host. The boat was fantastic! It was quite an adventure. The kiak was great but it was covered with Bird poop. You were very acomidating and generous. We had a great time despite the sea sickness. We will remember that forever. The bed was very comfortable. Some people will put a Manuel out for guests explaining things and what kind of clean up is expected like strip bed and put sheets in hamper. The taxi guy told me I could have taken a Dramamine a day before and then the morning of and that would have helped. Maybe pass that along to people. It was fun. Thank you for having us. Good luck with your whale watching venture.

Erika

September 4, 2017

Wow, what an amazing experience!! The boat is amazing! It's clean and cozy! The bed was super comfy! I've traveled quite a bit, but this really was a once in a lifetime experience! I saw so much wildlife! I saw hundreds of thousands of birds flying over the water to catch sardines. There were so many, I couldn't see the beginning nor end of the birds. The water taxi was very convenient, but Isaac was very helpful with any questions, and also used his dingy to paddle us back to the boat after the taxi service was closed. At night, we were able to lay on the deck and watch the moon and stars. (We used a constellation app.) The boat does rock quite a bit at night, but for me, it put me to sleep. There is a hatch you can leave open above the bed, so there's a nice ocean breeze that comes in, and you can see the stars as you are going to sleep. I can imagine that some people may get seasick from the rocking though. I cannot express what an amazing experience this was! This was my very first airbnb stay, but I honestly don't know if anything else would ever beat this experience!

Private Feedback: OMG, this was the best experience I have ever had, and I have traveled to lots of places! Thank you so much for allowing me to stay on your beautiful boat!! What an experience!!

Samuel

August 27, 2017

Amazing place and amazing host. Great views, wildlife, and scenery. Be sure to leave time to find a place to park over night. Everything about the visit was smooth. Taking the Kayak out was fun. We didn't cook on the boat, but the setup would have made that very easy.

Private Feedback: Thanks for hosting and being flexible on our arrival! Description on the site is accurate. We will certainly be back!

Joe

August 22, 2017

We really appreciate Doug and Isaac making this awesome experience available. My husband and I seek out unique places to stay in any area we visit, and the boat at Capitola delivered! I recommend the Wharf House restaurant at the end of the pier: It made it easy for us to meet each other without anybody waiting around. The boat is definitely for the adventurous traveler (it bobs constantly in the current even when the water is still; and the amenities are, by necessity, limited) but we loved it. If this is the kind of experience you look for, I strongly recommend that you book it.

Claire

August 21, 2017

Dove IV was a wonderful experience! We both felt a little sea sick but we were able to fall asleep to the rocking of the waves. There is a fully functional galley so we enjoyed coffee and cereal in the morning and watched sea otters, sea lions, and frigates going about their morning. Catching the sunset right after we arrived was beautiful! Also the water taxi was super easy to use.

Private Feedback: Thanks Doug! We loved staying on Dove IV. We enjoyed the sunset and whale spotting. A little bit seasick but nothing came of it, so all in all an awesome experience. I enjoyed sleeping with the hatch open and popping up to see otters and sea lions in the morning. Cool spot! Maybe we will get to stay here again sometime.

Jessica

August 20, 2017

My two sons and I enjoyed an epic road trip through California, and staying on the Dove IV was a fantastic highlight! Not only was Doug fantastic with communication and accommodation, he made sure that his boat was outfitted with everything we would need for a great experience. Sleeping was excellent on the gently rocking boat, and. My kids enjoyed watching the water for sightings of marine life! My only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. Would def recommend and stay again!

Private Feedback: Thanks Doug! We had a wonderful evening!

Olivia

August 19, 2017

This was a once in lifetime experience. If you have the opportunity definitely take advantage of this opportunity.

Private Feedback: Thank you so much for an amazing experience!

Joe

August 5, 2017

One of a kind experience. Highly recommend going off the beaten path and booking this fantastic boat. Issac was a great host. It was simply a wonderful and unique experience.

Private Feedback: Thanks to Issac for being a great host. Great communication. Hope to be able to stay again soon.

Sabrina

August 1, 2017

We stayed one night, family of four, and had an amazing experience. The owner communicated very well the reality of staying on a boat and made sure we had realistic expectations. The experience was awesome. We were able to fish from the boat, enjoy the kayak, and spot some otters! It was awesome, will definitely do it again.

Private Feedback: Thanks Doug for a great experience!

Greg

July 31, 2017

Private and adventurous, a opportunity awaits! When will you have a chance like this again?! Go for it!

Private Feedback: Really enjoyed our time on your boat! Thanks!

David

July 30, 2017

This was an amazing experience like no other. Doug, our host was amazing and always there when we needed anything. Totally recommend this adventure! Thank you Isaac and Doug. I will be back!! Cheers

Private Feedback: Thank you for a wonderful experience like none other!! We had an awesome time!!

Abigail

July 29, 2017

The boat is lovely and cute and a definite adventurous experience. Doug was friendly and helpful and used his dingy to drive us out to the boat and show us around. Unfortunately, we were later than expected due to traffic (so it was dark when we arrived, definitely try and get there before sundown) and the weather was quite misty and the sea choppy so the boat was up and down all night. Also the toilet was broken while we were there, so it was a little rustic in terms of bathroom situation. But we still had a great time, the boat is cute like in the pictures and Doug was very friendly and accommodating! I would recommend it for any adventurous travelers lookonng for something a bit different to try! We have awesome stories from our night on the boat!!

Private Feedback: Thank you for being a great host. We had a great time - a little choppy weather but totally an unforgettable experience! I marked one star down with the cleanliness just because of the broken toilet - hope you can get that up and fixed soon. But overall, it was a cute boat, we were unlucky with the weather, but we had a great time!! I would recommend to other adventurers!

Molly

July 23, 2017

Incredible experience Isaac was extremely helpful getting us to and from the boat, woke up to dolphins swimming right up by the boat. Beautiful views and awesome kitchen and comfortable room it was a magical unique trip I'd recommend to anyone!

Private Feedback: Thanks so much for being so helpful! Amazing experience

Kurt

July 16, 2017

An amazing experience. Beautiful views and excellent hospitality.

Melanie

July 9, 2017

Issac was easy to communicate with for check-in and a cool guy! the boat was so unique and beautiful. Such a fun adventure stay!

Alanna

July 8, 2017

An absolutely incredible experience. Highly recommended, though do be aware of the possibility of seasickness and the limitations of transport when deciding to stay.

Private Feedback: Thank you!

Rayman

July 3, 2017

One of the best Airbnb experiences to date. Without a doubt, the boat is not for everyone - sea sickness is an issue and we managed to deal with it with some Dramamine. But it was worth every moment, to be rocked to sleep by the quite waves, and to wake up early in the morning to see over a dozen dolphins swimming almost right up to the boat. We also saw a whale, and a whole bunch of seals. Isaac was also an absolute pleasure. I'm definitely recommending this boat to my friends and coworkers.

Private Feedback: Isaac was incredibly hospitable and just an awesome person. Favorite moment was when he dived into the water to get to his boat, and his parting words were to tell his girlfriend he loves her.

Timothy

July 2, 2017

So much fun. It came with a kayak, which would have cost $75 a day to rent separately. We saw otters, sharks, and more. Missed seeing whales by just a few minutes. Definitely for the adventurous. Toilets, etc are a little primitive, but you can always go ashore if that is an issue. Fun times!

Edward

June 30, 2017

If your looking for something a bit different and enjoy the outdoor/adventure life. This is perfect.

Private Feedback: Amazing experience, loved the adventure side of it.

Sasha

June 19, 2017

Let me be frank - I booked Dove IV because wanted to impress someone special. Captain Ike and his beautiful boat really rose to the occasion. For starters, he met us on the Capitola Wharf and got us to the boat no problem. Once aboard, he walked us through the ins and outs of sleeping on a sailboat. What an honor to get insight into boat life from the Captain himself. He then shared his famous ceviche with us before heading back to shore. Go into this airbnb with an open mind. Staying on a sailboat is an experience not for the faint of heart. Luckily, Dove IV is super close to shore so phone's still work. You can decide to stay connected or check out, its up to you. We ended up making a beautiful meal on board and soaking in an epic sunset on Monterey Bay. Honestly, you can't put a price on such an incredible experience. We'll definitely be going back aboard Dove IV soon. Captain Ike is the real deal and we're so thankful for his willingness to share such a majestic vessel.

Private Feedback: So stoked to check out Dove IV. I had the most amazing time. Just one unforgettable moment after the next. Amen!

Susan

June 18, 2017

What a unique place to experience beautiful Capitola - offshore on the Monterrey Bay. To look up at the night sky and to be entertained by sea otters in the nearby kelp bed added to the charm of staying on your sailboat. Thanks for your hospitality and flexibility in getting us to the sailboat after hours!

Nick

June 14, 2017

Wow! Not just a stay but a truly unique experience. For me this is the very best of what AirB&B can be about. From the ride back and forth on the water taxi (easy, friendly, quick and cheap!), to the beautiful sunset surrounded by wildlife, this is 100% the real deal. Probably not for the feint-hearted or less adventurous, and certainly weather dependent, I can only report back on my stay which was - as well as the honour of being first customer - absolutely perfect. From sitting on the deck watching the sun go down behind Capitola, to the shore lights coming on, to the Pelicans diving and catching their supper all around me, to the sea otter cubs and their mums checking me out with my Californian Rose. What more could you ask? Rocked to sleep in the cabin looking up out of the hatch at the stars, and waking to another glorious sunrise. The boat is decked out vintage wood style and has everything you'd expect (except wifi!) - my only tip would be take your shoes off on the wharf and head over bare foot. Other than that, this is really something special. And just in case you think this review is too glowing; I never met the guys before in my life! Really genuinely hope they have every success with this. Thanks for offering something special. Good luck with it.

Private Feedback: Thanks guys. Loved it all. Even the bucket! ;-) Wish you the best of luck with it...